Honorary Life Members

The Honorary life member is given to an individual of national and international prominence, who has performed outstanding service to the profession and the Society, whose contributions, technical or otherwise, have made an important impact in the field of interest of the Society, who has been an elected member of the Administrative Committee, an MTT-S member for at least 10 years, and has been elected IEEE Fellow. Furthermore, this award carries the expectation that the candidate will continue to contribute to the Society and participate in its activities as an individual contributor, an advisor, and/or by serving on Society AdHoc and Standing Committees. Past and current honorary life members are listed in the table below.

Current Honorary Life Members

Name and Award Date

  • Peter W. Staecker: 2006
  • John T. Barr IV: 2017
  • Jozef Modelski: 2019
  • Richard V. Snyder: 2021
  • Manfred J. Schindler: 2021

Past Honorary Life Members

Name and Award Date

  • George C. Southworth: 1958
  • Andre G. Clavier: 1959
  • William W. Mumford: 1965
  • Alfred C. Beck: 1967
  • Donald D. King: 1973
  • Theodore S. Saad: 1973
  • Kiyo Tomiyasu: 1978
  • Seymour B. Cohn: 1978
  • Arthur A. Oliner: 1978
  • Leo Young: 1982
  • Tatsuo Itoh: 1994
  • Richard A. Sparks: 2014