DMI Workshops 2021

The 1st IEEE MTT-S DMI Workshop

The first Distinguished Microwave Instructor (DMI) workshop was held on 26 November 2021 in Region 10, with over 1200 students attended. The workshop was delivered in a hybrid mode (on campus + online) with over 17 universities involved from China, Taiwan, India, Pakistan and Australia.

Three DMI speakers, Prof. Maurizio Bozzi, Prof. Rodica Ramer and Prof. Quan Xue, introduced the history of microwave and radio frequency technologies, the evolution of modern microwave systems, and the cutting-edge wireless applications yet to be used in our daily lives in the foreseeable future. The DMIs presented the long journey of wireless technologies from traditional applications 30 years ago (radio, TV and analog mobile phone) to today’s portable devices and wearable/implantable wireless sensors, all relying on microwave technologies. The evolution of microwave engineering and its applications to 5G/6G wireless communications, virtual reality, telepresence and automotive radar in unmanned vehicles were also discussed in the workshop by the DMIs.

The workshop was chaired by Prof. Wenquan Che and organised by MTT-S DMI team in Education Committee (Wenquan Che, Xun Gong, Tzyh-Ghuang Ma, Miguel Laso and Yang Yang). The DMI ambassadors and moderators came from over 20 universities in Region 10.

The moments:


Special thanks to the following organisations, ambassadors and moderators:


    • South China University of Technology (Wushan campus)
    • South China University of Technology(International campus)
    • Sun Yat-sen University
    • Tianjing University
    • Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications
    • Guangdong Polytechnic Normal University
    • Guangdong University of Technology
    • National Taiwan University
    • National Central University
    • National Tsing Hua University
    • National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
    • National Cheng Kung University
    • National Taiwan University of Science and Technolog
    • National Sun Yat-sen University
    • Manipal University Jaipur Cluster
    • Hyderabad
    • Osmania University
    • Bharathiyar University
    • Air University Pakistan
    • University of Engineering & Technology Pakistan
    • University of Technology Sydney
    • Macquarie University
    • University of New South Wales
    • University of Wollongong

Organising Ambassadors:

  • Shaoyong Zheng (China),
  • Syed Muzahir Abbas (Australia),
  • Kaixue Ma (China),
  • Shiban Koul (India),
  • Chun Hsing Li (Taiwan),
  • Fu-Kang Wang (Taiwan),
  • Saleem Shahid (Pakistan)

Moderators (Faculty members):

  • Haoshen Zhu (China)
  • Xiang Yi (China)
  • Yu-Hsiang Cheng (Taiwan)
  • Dinesh Yadav (India)
  • Sandeep Chaturvedi (India)
  • Yu Luo (China)
  • Guangxu Shen (China)
  • Kai Yu (China)
  • Tonghe Wang (China)