Christopher Nordquist

Christopher Nordquist


Sandia National Laboratories

Sandia National Laboratories, NM P. O. Box 5800, MS 1085 NM 87185 USA


  • Member, TC-13 MICROWAVE CONTROL TECHNIQUES, Technical Committees**
  • Topic Editor, JMW Editors, Journal of Microwaves, Publications**
  • Vice-Chair, TC-6 RF MEMS AND MICROWAVE ACOUSTICS, Technical Committees**


Christopher D. Nordquist (M’96–SM’09) received his B.S., M.S., and Ph. D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, USA in 1997, 1998, and 2002, respectively.

At Penn State he was an Undergraduate and Graduate research assistant from 1995-1998 and a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellow from 1998-2001, where he explored heterogeneous integration of compound semiconductor devices through self-assembly. In 2002, he joined Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM, where he is currently a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff in the RF/Optoelectronics Department. His current research interests and activities include the design, fabrication, integration, and application of emerging micromachined and solid-state RF and microwave devices. In this context of exploring new approaches that target key future needs, he has explored the application of a broad range of advanced technology sets including Si, GaAs, InP, GaN, MEMS, and advanced materials. He has co-authored over 80 journal and conference publications and holds 9 patents in these areas.

Dr. Nordquist is a Senior Member of the IEEE Electron Device and Microwave Theory and Techniques Societies. He is currently the chair of the IEEE MTT-13 Technical Committee on Microwave Control Materials and serves on the editorial board of the IEEE Journal of Microwaves. He also served as the Technical Program co-chair for the 2018 IEEE International Microwave Workshop in Advanced Materials, on the IEEE CSICS program committee from 2004-2006, as a reviewer for several IEEE journals, and was a key contributor to Sandia’s 2011 R&D100 award-winning Microresonator Filters and Frequency References team.

Contact Christopher Nordquist

    Fields marked with * are required.