Women in Microwaves (WIM)


  • WIM stands for “Women in Microwaves” and is the subset of Women in Engineering (WIE) working within the field of microwave engineering and typically active within the MTT society. WIM is also a subcommittee under MGA within the MTT-S AdCom.
  • The mission of WIM is to attract more woman graduate students and professionals to join MTT-S, and also increase the visibility of females in MTT-S through various activities.


WIM Officers

Meet the Co-Chairs
Wenquan (Cherry) Che
Wenquan (Cherry) Che
South China University of Technology - Professor

    Sherry Hess
    Sherry Hess
    AWR - Vice President of Marketing

      • Wenquan Che received the B.Sc. degree from the East China Institute of Science and Technology, Nanjing, China, in 1990, the M.Sc. degree from the Nanjing University of Science and Technology, Nanjing, in 1995, and the Ph.D. degree from the City University of Hong Kong (CITYU), Hong Kong, in 2004. Since 2013, she has been the Executive Dean of the College of Elite Education, Nanjing University of Science and Technology. She is currently a Professor with the South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, China.
      • Wenquan Che was a recipient of the 5th China Young Female Scientists Award, in 2008. She received the 2007 Humboldt Research Fellowship presented by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany and the Distinguished Young Scientist award by the National Natural Science Foundation Committee of China, in 2012.
      • Her research interests include microwave antenna technology, planar/coplanar circuits and subsystems in RF/microwave frequency, microwave monolithic integrated circuits, and medical application of microwave technology.
      • Sherry Hess brings to AWR more than 15 years of EDA experience in domestic and international sales, marketing, support, and management. Prior to joining AWR, she served as vice president of business development at CebaTech, Inc., where she was responsible for taking the R&D stealth-mode EDA/IP start-up to market, which included all aspects of sales, support, marketing, and business management.
      • For the majority of her career, Sherry served in various positions at EDA software developer Ansoft Corporation (now Ansys Inc). She joined the company in 1990 as a sales and support engineer, and was instrumental in setting up new semiconductor / major accounts throughout North America. In 1995 Sherry was promoted to director of European operations, with responsibility for all company operations throughout Europe. In 2000 she was named vice president of marketing, directing worldwide marketing of Ansoft’s high-performance EDA software product lines until leaving the company in 2005.
      • Before joining Ansoft as employee #20, Sherry spent two years with Intel Corporation, first as a graduate rotation engineer and later within its ASIC Group.
      • Sherry holds BSEE and MSIA (Technical MBA) degrees from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.
      Rashaunda Henderson
      Rashaunda Henderson
      University of Texas - Dallas - Assistant Professor

        • Rashaunda Henderson received the B.S.E.E. degree from Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL, in 1992, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, in 1994 and 1999, respectively. From 1999 to 2007, she worked as a R&D device engineer at Freescale Semiconductor, formerly known as Motorola Semiconductor Product Sector.
        • Since Fall 2007, she has been investigating novel passive components and integration techniques for millimeter-wave circuits and systems. She advises a team of students in the design, fabrication and characterization of high performance transmission lines, circuits and electronic packages for frequencies operating up to 300 GHz. Dr. Henderson is a senior member of the IEEE.
        • Rashaunda is active in the MTT-S through MTT-11, the Education Committee and IMS TPRC. She is the treasurer for RWS 2015 and previously served as the Student Paper Contest Co-Chair from 2012-2014.
        WIM Subcommittee Members
        Chair                        Wenquan (Cherry) Che
        Vice-Chairs           Rashaunda Henderson
                                            Sherry Hess
        Members                Charlotte Blair
                                            Fauziahanim Che Seman
                                            Alessandra Costanzo
                                            Mojgan Daneshmand
                                            Helen Duncan
                                            Monica Fernandez Barciela
                                            Kiki Ikosi
                                            Xiuping Li
                                            Ying Liu
                                            Rodica Ramer
                                            Dominique Schreurs
                                            Jonmei Yan “Johanna”
                                            Qiaowei Yuan
        Assistant                Ye Han


        WIM Column in IEEE Microwave Magazine: A platform for sharing, welcome to submit your paper.


        Rashaunda Henderson – I am an engineer
        Sherry Hess – Interview on Women in Engineering
        Charlotte Blair – Women in Engineering: Current Perspective

        Photos from previous WIM Events. Photos by LylePhotos.com.