Yang Yang

Yang Yang


University of Technology Sydney



  • Associate Editor, Transactions Editors, MTT Transactions, Publications**
  • Chair, TC-17 Microwave Materials and Processing Technologies, Technical Committees**
  • Chair, Subcommittee: Education Resources Development, Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Chair, DMI Program, Subcommittee: Education Resources Development, Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • DMI Program, Subcommittee: Education Resources Development, Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Education Website Editor, Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Intersociety Activities, Subcommittee: Education Resources Development, Education Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Vice-Chair, Education Committee, Standing Committees**


Yang Yang (S’11–M’14-SM’17) was born in Bayan Nur, Inner Mongolia, China, and received the degrees of MEng in Telecommunications, MSc in Digital Communications, and Ph.D. in Electronic Engineering from the Department of Electrical and Computer Systems Engineering (ECSE) and Faculty of Information Technology (IT), Monash University (Clayton Campus), Melbourne, Australia, in 2007, 2008 and 2013, respectively.

In 2012, Dr. Yang joined Rain Bird Australia, serving as an Asia Pacific GSP Engineer, and worked in Rain Bird Corporation in Tucson, AZ, U.S.A. (from July-September 2012). In April 2015, he returned to academia, holding the position of Senior Research Associate in the field of microwave and antenna technologies with the Centre for Collaboration in Electromagnetic and Antenna Engineering at Macquarie University. In April 2016, he was appointed as a Research Fellow with the State Key Laboratory of Terahertz and Millimeter Waves, City University of Hong Kong. In December 2016, Dr. Yang joined the University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Australia. He is currently an Associate Professor and a Group Leader of 3D Millimetre-Wave and Terahertz Circuits and Antennas in UTS Tech Lab. His research interests include millimetre-wave and sub-terahertz technologies in 5G and beyond and biomedical applications. He has over 200 international publications in microwave, millimetre-wave and terahertz circuits and antennas
Dr. Yang was a winner of CST University Publication Award 2018, by CST, Dassault Systèmes. During 2017-2019, he received UTS FEIT Blue Sky Awards in the field of 3D printed microwave and millimetre-wave devices and antennas for 5G and biomedical applications. His PhD student won the prestigious 2020 IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship Award. He was selected as the Golden Reviewer of IEEE Electron Device Letters 2017 and 2019, respectively. He was the only recipient of the corporation 2014 Global GSP Success Award by Rain Bird Corporation, Tucson, U.S.A. In 2021, Dr Yang received the Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities (LIEF) Award funded by the Australian Research Council to establish the Australian 3D Terahertz Beam Measurement Platform.

He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (from October 2022), IEEE Access (2018-2022), and an Area Editor of Microwave and Optical Technology Letters (2019-date). He is a current committee member of MTT-28 Biological Effects and Medical Applications and a current committee member of the AP-S Technical Committee on Antenna Measurements. His appointments at IEEE NSW Section, Region 10, include the committee member of the IEEE NSW Section, the Treasurer (2018-2019) and the Vice Chair/Chair (2020-2023) of the IEEE NSW AP/MTT Joint Chapter, the Secretary (2019) of IEEE NSW PH/ED/SSC/CAS Joint Chapter, the Inaugural Committee/Treasurer (2020) and Vice Chair (2022) of IEEE NSW Electron Devices Chapter. He also served as a TPC member and session chair of many conferences in Region 10.

Contact Yang Yang

    Fields marked with * are required.