Jenshan Lin

Jenshan Lin


  • Chair, Fellow Evaluating Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Member, WPW ExCom, Meetings and Symposia Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Member, Wireless Power Transfer Working Group, Technical Coordination & Future Directions Committee, Standing Committees**
  • Member, TC-23 WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS, Technical Committees**
  • 2007, N. Walter Cox Award, Past Awardees**
  • 2014 - 2016, Transactions Past Editors-in-Chief, MTT Transactions, Publications**
  • 2006 - 2010, Transactions Past Associate Editors, MTT Transactions, Publications**
University of Florida
1064 Center Drive, NEB 559 Gainesville, FL 32611-6130


Jenshan Lin (S’91–M’94–SM’00–F’10) is a professor at University of Florida. He received his B.S. degree in Electrophysics from National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) in Hsinchu, Taiwan, in 1987, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), in 1991 and 1994, respectively. In 1994, he joined AT&T Bell Labs (became Lucent Bell Labs in 1997), Murray Hill, New Jersey, as a Member of Technical Staff, and became the Technical Manager of RF and High Speed Circuit Design Research in 2000, where he was involved with RF integrated circuits using various technologies for wireless communications. In September 2001, he joined Agere Systems, a spin-off from Lucent Technologies, where he was involved with high speed CMOS circuit design for optical and backplane communications. In July 2003, he joined University of Florida as an Associate Professor and was promoted to Full Professor in August 2007. He was the Chair of Electronics Division in Electrical and Computer Engineering Department from Fall 2008 to Spring 2010. He served as an elected Faculty Senator in UF Faculty Senate in 2006-2009. He was a Visiting Professor at National Taiwan University in summer 2006, a Visiting Researcher at NTT Microsystem Integration Laboratories in summer 2010, a Visiting Chair Professor at National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan, in summer 2012. From October 2016 to August 2020, he served as a Program Director at U.S. National Science Foundation, managing several programs involving wireless, spectrum, semiconductor, security, and machine learning. His current research interests include sensors and biomedical applications of microwave and millimeter-wave technologies, wireless energy transfer and conversion, RF system-on-chip integration, and integrated antennas. Dr. Lin has published 300 technical papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings, 2 books, and 9 book chapters. He has 22 patents awarded. An updated list of his publications and patents can be found on Google Scholar. Since joining University of Florida, he has graduated 28 Ph.D. students.

Dr. Lin is a Fellow of IEEE. He served as an elected IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) Administrative Committee (AdCom) member for two terms in 2006-2011, and served as the Chair of Technical Coordinating Committee in 2010-2011, overseeing all technical committees and exploring new technical fields. He was an Associate Editor and then an Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques from 2006 to 2010 and from 2014 to 2016, respectively. He is a member of three MTT technical committees on Biological Effects and Medical Applications, Wireless Communications, and Wireless Power Transfer and Energy Conversion which he co-founded in 2011 and served as its chair in 2013-2015. He has been serving on several conference steering committees and technical program committees, including several chair/co-chair positions of MTT conferences: Technical Program Co-Chair of IEEE RFIC Symposium in 2006 and 2007, General Chair of 2008 IEEE RFIC Symposium. Technical Program Chair of 2009 IEEE Radio and Wireless Symposium, General Co-Chair of 2012 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference (APMC), Chair of 2021 IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference, and Technical Program Co-Chair of 2021 IEEE International Microwave Symposium. He has been serving on several advisory committees and advisory boards. He received 1994 UCLA Outstanding Ph.D. Award, 1997 ETA KAPPA NU Outstanding Young Electrical Engineer Honorable Mention Award, 2007 IEEE MTT-S N. Walter Cox Award, 2016 NCTU Distinguished Alumnus Award, and 2016 IEEE RFIC Symposium Tina Quach Outstanding Service Award. He received the University of Florida Technology Innovator Awards in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017 for patents licensed in prior calendar year. He and his students and collaborators received several best paper awards in IEEE conferences, including IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference Overall Best Paper Award voted by all attendees in 2015, IEEE IMWS-Bio Best Student Paper Award First Place in 2015, IEEE Radio and Wireless Week BioWireless Best Student Paper Award Second Place in 2016, IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference Student Paper Competition Awards in 2016, 2018, and 2021, and IEEE Radio Frequency Integration Technology Student Paper Competition Award in 2021.

Additional information can be found on his website: