Ilona Rolfes

Ilona Rolfes


Ruhr University Bochum, Germany


  • 2011, Outstanding Young Engineer Award, Past Awardees**
  • 2019, Transactions Past Associate Editors, MTT Transactions, Publications**
  • Member, IMWS-AMP ExCom, Meetings and Symposia Committee, Standing Committees**


Ilona Rolfes studied electrical engineering from 1992 to 1997 at Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany. From 1997 to 2005 she worked as scientific researcher at the Institute for High Frequency Techniques at Ruhr-University Bochum. In 2002, she received the Dr.-Ing. degree for her doctoral thesis: “Methods for the precise measurement of the scattering and the noise parameters of linear two-ports at microwave frequencies. From 2005 to 2009 she was Juniorprofessor in the department of electrical engineering at the Leibniz University Hannover where she was Director of the Institute for Radiofrequency and Microwave Engineering from 2006 to 2009.Since 2010, Ilona Rolfes heads the chair of Microwave Systems at Ruhr-University Bochum and is Vice Dean for research of her faculty.

Within IEEE, Ilona Rolfes is board member of the german IEEE MTT-AP chapter, member of the Executive Committee of the IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Workshop Series on Advanced Materials and Processes and acts as reviewer for various IEEE transactions and conferences. She is board member of ITG (Information Technology Society) of Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information (VDE), board member of the german commission for electromagnetic metrology of U.R.S.I. (International Union of Radio Science) and Vice president of the German Association of University Professors and Lecturers (DHV, Deutscher Hochschulverband), the main representation of all german university professors with more than 30.000 members. She is member of acatech, the national academy of science and engineering.

Her fields of research are concerned with high frequency measurement methods for vector network analysis, material characterization, noise characterization of microwave devices as well as sensor principles for radar systems and wireless solutions for communication systems. Ilona Rolfes is author or co-author of more than 200 publications in reviewed reputable journals and proceedings of conferences, of a book on noise theory and of numerous patents. For her research activities she already received some awards, as the European Microwave Price of the European Microwave Conference 2001 and the IEEE MTT outstanding young engineer award in 2011.

Contact Ilona Rolfes

    Fields marked with * are required.