Dimitris Anagnostou

Dimitris Anagnostou





Dimitris E. Anagnostou (S’98–M’05–SM’10) received the B.S.E.E. degree from the Democritus University of Thrace, Greece, in 2000, and the M.S.E.E. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM, in 2002 and 2005, respectively. From 2005 to 2006, he was a Postdoctoral Fellow with the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA. In 2007, he joined as Assistant Professor the SD School of Mines and Technology, SD, USA, where he was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. In 2016, he joined the Heriot Watt University, Institute of Signals, Sensors and Systems (ISSS), Edinburgh, UK as an Associate Professor. He has also worked at the Kirtland AFB, NM in 2011 as an AFRL Summer Faculty Fellow, and at the Democritus Univ. of Thrace, Greece as Assistant Professor.

Dr. Anagnostou is currently supported by a European H2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship on wireless sensing technologies. He has authored or coauthored more than 150 peer-reviewed journal and conference publications, one book chapter, and holds two U.S. patents on MEMS antennas and on optically scannable QR-code ‘anti-counterfeiting’ antennas. His research interests include: antennas (reconfigurable, adaptive, miniaturized and electrically small, space/satellite, wearable), microwave circuits and packaging, radar sensing, 5G arrays, functional phase-change materials such as VO2 for reconfigurable electronics and metasurfaces, direct-write electronics on organics, RF-MEMS, and applications of artificial neural networks, deep learning and signal processing in electromagnetics, health care and assisted living.

Dr. Anagnostou serves or has served as Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (2010-2016), the IEEE Access, and the IET Microwaves, Antennas and Propagation. He is Guest Editor for the IEEE Open Journal on Antennas and Propagation and the IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation Letters (two Special Clusters). He is a member of the IEEE AP-S Educational Committee, vice-chair of the online content subcommittee, and a member of the Technical Program Committee (TPC) of the IEEE AP-S and EuCAP International Symposia.

He has received the 2010 IEEE John D. Kraus Antenna Award, the 2011 DARPA Young Faculty Award by the U.S. Department of Defense, the 2014 Campus Star Award by the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), the 2017 Young Alumni Award by the University of New Mexico, the 2018 H2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship, and four Honored Faculty Awards by SDSMT, amongst many others. His students have also been recognized with IEEE and university awards (Engineering Prize at Heriot Watt University, Best PhD Thesis at South Dakota School of Mines, and others). He is a member of HKN Honor Society, ASEE, and of the Technical Chamber of Greece as a registered Professional Engineer (PE).

Contact Dimitris Anagnostou

    Fields marked with * are required.