11:48 GMT


linkedin icon

On May 16-18, 2016, the 2016 IEEE International Workshop on Electromagnetics (IEEE iWEM2016) (www.iwem2016.org.cn) was held successfully in Nanjing, China. iWEM started in Taipei in 2010 and was named as “International Conference on Applications of Electromagnetism and Student Innovation Awards” (2010 ICAE/SIA). The conference was renamed in 2011 as “IEEE International Workshop on Electromagnetics: Applications and Student Innovation Competition” (IEEE iWEM2011). Supported by IEEE, this workshop series will be held in rotation in Taiwan, mainland China, Hong Kong, and Japan. It provides not only an international platform for scientists and engineers to exchange their ideas, but also a good venue for young scholars and students to demonstrate their innovative research results.

IEEE iWEM2016 was organized by Nanjing University of Science and Technology (NUST), co-organized by Southeast University (SEU) and Nantong University, all in China, and co-sponsored by IEEE Nanjing Joint Chapter of APS/MTT/EMC. Prof. Wenquan Che is the General Chair, Prof. Wei Hong from SEU is the General Co-chair, while Prof. Ke-Li Wu from Chinese University of Hong Kong is the TPC Chair.

iWEM2016 TPC has put together the well-organized technical program, which covers nearly all topics that are important to the EM theory and microwave communities. Maintaining the traditionally high standards of iWEM, the technical program of iWEM2016 has broken several records: A high number 272 of submission, including high number of overseas submissions from 13 countries and regions. 74 international reviewers were invited to review the papers. Finally, a total number of 220 papers were accepted, including 85 invited papers. Besides the regular papers, 98 student papers were received to take part in the student-paper competition and 22 of them were selected to the final list after rigorous peer review by the TPC members. There were 30 oral presentation sessions, 1 student paper contest session and 3 poster sessions from Monday to Wednesday.

More than 240 peoples attended this big event. In this conference, we have invited 4 Keynote Speakers from governmental and industrial sectors to deliver very interesting and hot topics, including Prof. Ke Wu, the current MTT-S president, and organized 14 special sessions covering many currently hot research topics. On the banquet, 10 student papers were awarded, including 6 best student papers and 4 honorable mention student papers.