Honorary Life Members

The Honorary life member is given to an individual of national and international prominence, who has performed outstanding service to the profession and the Society, whose contributions, technical or otherwise, have made an important impact in the field of interest of the Society, who has been an elected member of the Administrative Committee, an MTT-S member for at least 10 years, and has been elected IEEE Fellow. Furthermore, this award carries the expectation that the candidate will continue to contribute to the Society and participate in its activities as an individual contributor, an advisor, and/or by serving on Society AdHoc and Standing Committees.
Past and current honorary life members are listed in the table below. 

Past Honorary Life Members

NameAward Year
George C. Southworth1960
Andre G. Clavier1961
William W. Mumford1965
Alfred C. Beck1967
Donald D. King1973
Theodore S. Saad1973
Arthur A. Oliner1978
Leo Young1982

Current Honorary Life Members

NameAward Year
Kiyo Tomiyasu1973
Seymour B. Cohn1978
Tatsuo Itoh1995
Peter W. Staecker2005
Richard Sparks2014
Back to Top