I E E E TOTOMONIC For the Microwave & Wireless Engineer MAGAZINE

Volume 22 • Number 2 • February 2021

Passive Component Technologies and Applications



Microwave Magazine and MTT Society Officers

Editor

Robert H. Caverly, Villanova University, USA, microwave.editor@ieee.org

Assistant Editor

Sharri Shaw, JWM Consulting LLC, microedt@outlook.com

Associate Editors

Nuño Borges Carvalho, University of Aveiro, Portugal, nbcarvalho@ua.pt Simone Bastioli, RS Microwave, New Jersey, USA, sbastioli@rsmicro.com Chia-Chan Chang, National Chung-Cheng University, Taiwan, ccchang@ee.ccu.edu.tw Ali Darwish, American University in Cairo, Egypt, ali@darwish.org Christian Fager, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden, christian.fager@chalmers.se Jianguo Ma, Guangdong University of Technology, China, mjg@gdut.edu.cn Alfy Riddle, Quanergy Systems, Inc., Sunnyvale, California, USA, alfred.riddle@quanergy.com Luca Roselli, University of Perugia, Italy, urlofi@tin.it; luca.roselli@unipg.it Kamal Samanta, Sony Europe, U.K., kmlsamanta@googlemail.com Almudena Suarez, University of Cantabria, Spain, almudena.suarez@unican.es Anding Zhu, University College Dublin, Ireland, anding.zhu@ucd.ie

Columns and Departments

MicroBusiness

Fred Schindler, m.schindler@ieee.org

Health Matters

James C. Lin, *University of Illinois-Chicago*, *USA*, lin@uic.edu

Microwave Surfing

Rajeev Bansal, *University of Connecticut*, *USA*, rajeev@engr.uconn.edu

Book Reviews

James Chu, Kennesaw State University, Georgia, USA, jameschu@bellsouth.net

Education Corner

Rashaunda Henderson, *University of Texas Dallas*, *USA*, mh072000@utdallas.edu

Women in Microwaves

Wenquan Che, Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China, yeeren_che@163.com

Membership News

Bela Szendrényi, *Advantest*, *California*, *USA*, bela.szendrenyi@advantest.com

New Products

Ken Mays, The Boeing Company, Washington, USA, microwave.newproducts@ieee.org

In Memoriam Contributions

Jerry Hausner, j.hausner@ieee.org

Ombuds Officer

Edward C. Niehenke, Niehenke Consulting, e.niehenke@ieee.org

IEEE Periodicals Magazines Department

Mark Gallaher, Managing Editor
Geraldine Krolin-Taylor, Senior Managing Editor
Janet Dudar, Senior Art Director
Gail A. Schnitzer, Associate Art Director
Theresa L. Smith, Production Coordinator
Felicia Spagnoli, Advertising Production Manager
Peter M. Tuohy, Production Director
Kevin Lisankie, Editorial Services Director
Dawn Melley, Senior Director, Publishing Operations

Advertising Sales

Mark David, Director, Business Development— Media & Advertising +1 732 465 6473, fax +1 732 981 1855



Volume 22 • Number 2 • February 2021 • ISSN 1527-3342

features

16 Negative Group Delay Circuits and Applications

Feedforward Amplifiers, Phased-Array Antennas, Constant Phase Shifters, Non-Foster Elements, Interconnection Equalization, and Power Dividers Jian-Kang Xiao, Qiu-Fen Wang, and Jian-Guo Ma

33 Waveguide Components Based on Multiple-Mode Resonators

Advances in Microwave Multiple-Mode Waveguide Components, Including Multiplexers, Three-State Diplexers, Crossovers, and Balanced/Unbalanced Elements Sai-Wai Wong, Jing-Yu Lin, Yang Yang, Zai-Cheng Guo, Lei Zhu, and Qing-Xin Chu

46 Tunable Balanced Power Dividers

An Overview of Recently Developed Balanced Power Dividers and Couplers With Fixed and Tunable Functions Feng Lin, Wenjie Feng, and Xiangguan Tan





for the Microwave & Wireless Engineer

MAGAZINE

IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society

The IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) is an organization, within the framework of the IEEE, of members with principal professional interests in the field of microwave theory and techniques. All Members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society. Information about joining the IEEE or the Society is available on the web, http://www.ieee.org/membership.

MTT-S AdCom

The Society is managed by an Administrative Committee (AdCom) consisting of 22 elected members of the Society plus additional ex-officio members as provided in the MTT-S Constitution and Bylaws, which is available on the web, http://www.mtt.org.

Officers

President: Gregory Lyons
President-Elect: Rashaunda Henderson
Secretary: Joseph Bardin
Treasurer: Maurizio Bozzi

Elected Members

Alaa Abunjaileh Scott Barker Maurizio Bozzi Nuno Borges Carvalho Robert H. Caverly Goutam Chattopadhyay Wenquan Che Terry Cisco Kamran Ghorbani Xun Gong Ramesh Gupta

Sridhar Kanamaluru Dietmar Kissinger Gregory Lyons Raafat Mansour Daniel Pasquet Ajay Poddar Jose Rayas-Sanchez Peter Siegel Anding Zhu

Rashaunda Henderson

Sherry Hess

Ex-Officio Members

Immediate Past Presidents:

Alaa Abunjaileh* (2020) Dominique Schreurs* (2018–2019) Dylan Williams* (2017)

Honorary Life Members* (max. three votes):

Józef Modelski John T. Barr IV Tatsuo Itoh Richard Sparks Peter Staecker

MTT-S Publications

IEEE Trans. Microwave
Theory & Techniques Editor:
IEEE Microwave & Wireless
Components Letters Editor:
IEEE Microwave Magazine Editor:
IEEE Trans. Terahertz Science &
Technology Editor:
IEEE Journal of Electromagnetics,
RF, and Microwaves in Medicine
and Biology Editor:
IEEE Journal on Multiscale and
Multiphysics Computational
Techniques Editor:

Jianguo Ma*

Thomas Zwick* Robert H. Caverly

Imran Mehdi*

Yongxin Guo

Costas Sarris

IEEE Journal of Microwaves Editor: Peter Siegel
*Indicates voting AdCom ex-officio member

IEEE Microwave Magazine (ISSN 1527-3342) (IEMMFF) is published 12 times a year by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Headquarters: 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997 USA. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society, or its members. IEEE Service Center (for orders, subscriptions, address changes): 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854. Telephone: +1 732 981 0060, +1 800 678 4333. Individual copies: IEEE members US\$20.00 (first copy only), nonnembers US\$37.00 per copy, Subscription rates: Subscriptions for Society members are included with membership dues. Nonmember subscription rates available upon request. Copyright and reprint permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy beyond the limits of US. Copyright law for the private use of patrons those articles that carry a code at the bottom of the first page, provided the per-copy fee is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923 USA. For other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Service Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA. Copyright © 2021 by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals postage paid at New York, N.Y., and at additional mailing offices. Ride along enclosed. Postmaster: Send address changes to IEEE Microwave Magazine, IEEE Operations Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA. Canadian GST #125634188 PRINTED IN THE USA

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MMM.2020.3035861

columns & departments

6 From the Editor's Desk

Robert H. Caverly
A Look at the February Issue

8 President's Column

■ Gregory Lyons

Administrative Committee Experience

12 MicroBusiness

• Fred Schindler Travel, Revisited

14 Microwave Surfing

■ Rajeev Bansal *A Moonshot?*

58 Application Notes

Zubair Ahmed
 Revisiting the Binomial Multisection
 Transformer

70 Book/Software Reviews

Alfy RiddleCMOS Loves 5G

72 Education News

 Robert H. Caverly, Michael C. Hamilton, and Rashaunda Henderson
 Continuing Our IEEE MTT-S
 Webinar Series

76 Enigmas, etc.

■ Takashi Ohira Turn-On Surge

78 Conference Calendar