

#### **Microwave Magazine and MTT Society Officers**

Robert H. Caverly, Villanova University, microwave.editor@ieee.org

#### **Assistant Editor**

Sharri Shaw, JWM Consulting LLC, microedt@outlook.com

#### **Associate Editors**

Nuño Borges Carvalho, University of Aveiro, Portugal, nbcarvalho@ua.pt Simone Bastioli, RS Microwave, New Jersey, United States sbastioli@rsmicro.com Ali Darwish, American University in Cairo, Egypt, ali@darwish.org Christian Fager, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden, christian.fager@chalmers.se

Mohammad S. Hashmi, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi, India, mshashmi@iiitd.ac.in

Jianguo Ma, Guangdong University of Technology, China, mjg@gdut.edu.cn Alfy Riddle, Quanergy Systems, Inc., Sunnyvale, California, alfred.riddle@quanergy.com Luca Roselli, University of Perugia, Italy, urlofi@tin.it; luca.roselli@unipg.it Kamal Samanta, Sony Europe, United Kingdom, kmlsamanta@googlemail.com Almudena Suarez, University of Cantabria, Spain, almudena.suarez@unican.es Anding Zhu, University College Dublin,

### Ireland, anding.zhu@ucd.ie **Columns and Departments**

MicroBusiness

Fred Schindler, m.schindler@ieee.org

**Health Matters** 

James C. Lin, University of Illinois-Chicago, lin@uic.edu

Microwave Surfing

Rajeev Bansal, University of Connecticut, rajeev@engr.uconn.edu

**Book Reviews** 

James Chu, Kennesaw State University, jameschu@bellsouth.net

**Education Corner** 

Rashaunda Henderson, University of Texas Dallas, mh072000@utdallas.edu

Women in Microwaves

Wenquan Che, Nanjing University of Science and Technology, yeeren\_che@163.com

Membership News

Bela Szendrenyi, Advantest, bela.szendrenyi@advantest.com

**New Products** 

Ken Mays, KMays Technical Services, microwave.newproducts@ieee.org

In Memoriam Contributions Jerry Hausner, j.hausner@ieee.org

**Ombuds Officer** 

Edward C. Niehenke, Niehenke Consulting, e.niehenke@ieee.org

**IEEE Periodicals Magazines Department** 

Mark Gallaher, Managing Editor Geraldine Krolin-Taylor, Senior Managing Editor Janet Dudar, Senior Art Director Gail A. Schnitzer and Bonnie Nani, Associate Art Directors Theresa L. Smith, Production Coordinator Felicia Spagnoli, Advertising Production Manager Peter M. Tuohy, Production Director Kevin Lisankie, Editorial Services Director

**Advertising Sales** 

Mark David, Director, Business Development— Media & Advertising +1 732 465 6473, fax +1 732 981 1855

Dawn M. Melley, Staff Director, Publishing Operations

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MMM.2020.2993209





Volume 21 • Number 8 • August 2020 • ISSN 1527-3342

### features

## 24 Quantum Computing

An Introduction for Microwave Engineers Joseph C. Bardin, Daniel Sank, Ofer Naaman, and Evan Jeffrey

## 45 Superconducting Parametric **Amplifiers**

The State of the Art in Josephson Parametric Amplifiers José Aumentado

## 60 Microwave Techniques for **Quantum Computers**

State-of-the-Art Control Systems for Quantum Processors Diego Ristè, Spencer Fallek, Brian Donovan, and Thomas A. Ohki

# **72** Solid-State Qubits

3D Integration and Packaging Danna Rosenberg, Steven J. Weber, David Conway, Donna-Ruth W. Yost, Justin Mallek, Gregory Calusine, Rabindra Das, David Kim, Mollie E. Schwartz, Wayne Woods, Jonilyn L. Yoder, and William D. Oliver







**IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society** 

The IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) is an organization, within the framework of the IEEE, of members with principal professional interests in the field of microwave theory and techniques. All Members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society. Information about joining the IEEE or the Society is available on the web, http://www.ieee.org/membership.

#### MTT-S AdCom

The Society is managed by an Administrative Committee (AdCom) consisting of 21 elected members of the Society plus additional ex-officio members as provided in the MTT-S Constitution and Bylaws, which is available on the web, http://www.mtt.org.

### Officers

President: Alaa Abunjaileh
President-Elect: Gregory Lyons
Secretary: Sridhar Kanamaluru
Treasurer: Maurizio Bozzi

#### **Elected Members**

Alaa Abunjaileh Scott Barker Maurizio Bozzi Nuno Borges Carvalho Goutam Chattopadhyay Wenquan Che Terry Cisco Ramesh Gupta Rashaunda Henderson Sherry Hess Dietmar Kissinger Gregory Lyons
Raafat Mansour
Julio Navarro
Daniel Pasquet
Ajay Poddar
Sanjay Raman
Jose Rayas-Sanchez
Atsushi Sanada
Peter Siegel
Anding Zhu

#### **Ex Officio Members (with vote)**

Immediate Past Presidents:

Dominique Schreurs (2018–2019) Dylan Williams (2017) Ke Wu (2016)

Honorary Life Members:

Józef Modelski John T. Barr IV Tatsuo Itoh Richard Sparks Peter Staecker

IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory & Techniques Editor:

IEEE Microwave & Wireless Components Letters Editor: IEEE Microwave Magazine Editor: IEEE Trans. Terahertz Science &

Technology Editor: IEEE Journal of Electromagnetics, RF, and Microwaves in Medicine and Biology Editor:

and Biology Editor: IEEE Journal on Multiscale and Multiphysics Computational Techniques Editor: Thomas Zwick Robert H. Caverly

Imran Mehdi

Jianguo Ma

J.-C. Chiao

Costas Sarris

IEEE Microwave Magazine (ISSN 1527-3342) (IEMMFF) is published 12 times a year by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Headquarters: 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997 USA. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society, or its members. IEEE Service Center (for orders, subscriptions, address changes): 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854. Telephone: +1 732 981 0060, +1 800 678 4333. Individual copies: IEEE members US\$20.00 (first copy only), nonmembers US\$35.00 per copy. Subscription rates: Subscriptions for Society members are included with membership dues. Nonmember subscription rates available upon request. Copyright and reprint permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy beyond the limits of U.S. Copyright law for the private use of patrons those articles that carry a code at the bottom of the first page, provided the per-copy fee is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923 USA. For other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Service Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA. Copyright © 2020 by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals postage paid at New York, N.Y., and at additional mailing offices. Ride along enclosed. Postmaster: Send address changes to IEEE Microwwe Magazine, IEEE Operations Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA. Canadian GST #125634188 PRINTED IN THE USA

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MMM.2020.2993210

## columns & departments

### 6 From the Editor's Desk

Robert H. Caverly
Welcome to the August Issue

### 10 President's Column

Alaa Abunjaileh Building Bridges

### **14** MicroBusiness

• Fred Schindler
Living in Interesting Times

### **16** Microwave Surfing

Rajeev Bansal

SETI 2020: The Pause That Refreshes?

### **22** From the Guest Editor's Desk

Joseph C. Bardin

Quantum Computing for Microwave Engineers

### **86** Book/Software Reviews

James Chu

A Reference on Indoor Anechoic Ranges

### **90** Education News

 Giovanni Crupi, Roger Kaul, Changzhi Li, and Rashaunda Henderson
 The 2020 MTT-S Graduate Student
 Fellowship Awards

### **98** Around the Globe

 Kateryna Arkhypova, Jan Macháč, and Daryna Pesina

The First IEEE Milestone in Ukraine Celebrates "Zenit Parabolic Reflector L-band Pulsed Radar, 1938" in Kharkiv

### **102** New Products

■ Ken Mays, Editor

### **106** Enigmas, etc.

■ Takashi Ohira

Load Deviation Viewed Through Reactors

### 108 Conference Calendar