Microwave Pioneer Award

Recognizes an individual or team, having made outstanding pioneering technical contributions that advance microwave theory and techniques, which are described in an archival paper published at least 20 years prior to the year of the award.



Frederick H. Raab (S'66, M'72, SM'80, F'06, LF'12)

in Recognition of Pioneering Contributions to the Theory, Development, and Practical Use of High Efficiency Power Amplifiers

Frederick H. "Fritz" Raab is Chief Engineer of Green Mountain Radio Research, which he founded in 1980. He received B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. from Iowa State University in 1968, 1970, and 1972, and received ISU's Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering in 1995. He is coauthor of the classic textbook Solid State Radio Engineering and over 100 technical papers. He founded subcommittee MTT-17 that expanded MTT-S into HF/VHF/UHF. He is a member of IEEE, HKN, Sigma Xi, AOC, RCA (fellow), and ARRL. "Fritz" coordinated the ARRL 500-kHz experiment which was instrumental in creating the new 630-meter amateur band.