Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes an individual who has given outstanding service for the benefit and advancement of the MTT Society.



Wayne A. Shiroma (5'85, M'87, SM'08)

in Recognition of a Distinguished Record of Service to the IEEE MTT Society and the Microwave Profession over a Sustained Period of Time.

Wayne Shiroma is Professor and Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. He received his BS degree from the University of Hawaii, MS from Cornell, and PhD from the University of Colorado at Boulder. Wayne served as the IEEE MTT-S AdCom Secretary in 2001, followed by three elected terms from 2002-10, serving on the Budget, IMS Executive, Operations, Education, and Membership Services Committees. He was the General Chair of the 2007 and 2017 IEEE MTT-S International Microwave Symposium, and is the faculty advisor for the IEEE MTT-S Student Branch Chapter at his university.