N. Walter Cox Award

The N. Walter Cox Award recognizes an individual (IEEE MTT-S member) who has given exemplary service to the Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation. This year's recipient is **Scott Wetenkamp.**

"In recognition of exemplary service to the MTT Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation"



Scott Wetenkamp

has been interested in electronics since building a Tesla Coil and getting his amateur radio license in 8th grade. (Presently K6SFW)

After working as a Betatron operator the Physics Research Lab as an undergrad, he studied under circuit theory giant Mac Van Valkenburg to get his Ph.D. His Ph.D. thesis was on multiloop feedback techniques which led him naturally to his long-term interest in signal generation -- oscillators and phase-locked loops.

His first job was working for Watkins-Johnson in the microwave synthesizer group and developing YIG based synthesizers from 100MHz to 40 GHz. From there he was Director of Engineering at Pacific Measurements (which later became Wavetek), Vice President of Engineering at Integra Microwave, Director of R&D at Zeta Labs, and VP of Engineering at Micro Lambda Wireless. During his career Scott has designed and built virtually every kind of synthesizer from audio to 90GHz.

Scott eventually turned to consulting as a way to get away from management duties that kept him away from the bench. He has been consulting for 30 years on a wide variety of projects ranging from medical implants with full telemetry to broadband sampling mixers and vector network analyzers.

Outside of work he enjoys hiking, skiing, flying (private pilot, IFR rated), and travelling with his wife, Jean.

Scott's MTT involvement was triggered by none other than Steve Cripps who involved him in the local Silicon Valley chapter. His four year involvement culminated with being the local chapter chair in 1996. That year the IMS was in San Francisco, and he was the first to develop print-on-demand signs at the IMS. From there he was asked to be the AdCom secretary under the legendary Roger Pollard.

As secretary he started the MTT.org website and was the webmaster for several years. He was elected to two terms on AdCom.

He has been on the TPRC for signal generation since 1996, and has been a member and chair of technical committee TG-22: Signal Generation & Frequency Conversion.