Distinguished Educator Award

This award was inspired by the untimely death of Prof. F.J. Rosenbaum (1937–1992), an outstanding teacher of microwave science and a dedicated AdCom Member and contributor. The award recognizes a distinguished educator in the field of microwave engineering and science who best exemplifies the special human qualities of Fred Rosenbaum who considered teaching a high calling and demonstrated his dedication to the Society through tireless service. This year's recipients are **José Carlos Pedro and Robert Weigel.**

"For outstanding contributions as a teacher, mentor, and role model for students in the microwave profession"



Robert Weigel

was born in Ebermannstadt, Germany, in 1956. He received the Dr.-Ing. and the Dr.-Ing. habil. degrees, both in electrical engineering and computer science, from the Munich University of Technology in Germany where he respectively was a Research Engineer, a Senior Research Engineer, and a Professor for RF Circuits and Systems until 1996. During 1994 to 1995 he was a Guest Professor for SAW Technology at Vienna University of Technology in Austria. From 1996 to 2002, he has been Director of the Institute for Communications and Information Engineering at the University of Linz, Austria where, in August 1999,th he co-founded the company DICE, meanwhile split into an Infineon Technologies (DICE) and an 1999,th he co-founded the company which are devoted to the design of RFICs for mobile radio and MMICs for vehicular radar applications, respectively. In 2000, he has been appointed a Professor for RF Engineering at the Tongji University in Shanghai, China. Since 2002 he is Head of the Institute for Electronics Engineering at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany. There, respectively in 2009, in 2012, and in 2015 he co-founded the companies eesy-id, eesy-ic and eesy-innovation.

Dr. Weigel has been engaged in research and development of microwave theory and techniques, electronic circuits and systems, and communication and sensing systems. In these fields, he has published more than 800 papers. He received the 2002 VDE ITG-Award and the 2007 IEEE Microwave Applications Award.

Dr. Weigel is a Fellow of the IEEE, an Elected Member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech), and an Elected Member of the Senate of the German Research Foundation (DFG). He is and has been serving on numerous advisory boards of government bodies, research institutes and companies in Europe and Asia. Furthermore, he is and has been serving on various editorial boards such as that of the Proceedings of the IEEE. He also has been Founding Editor of the Proceedings of the European Microwave Association (EuMA) which in 2008 where transformed into EuMA's International Journal of Microwave and Wireless Technologies. He has been member of numerous conference steering and technical program committees. He was, e.g., General Chair of several conferences such as the 2013 European Microwave Week in Nuremberg, Germany and Technical Program Chair of several conferences such as the 2002 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium in Munich, Germany. He served in many roles for the IEEE MTT and UFFC Societies. He has been Founding Chair of the Austrian COM/MTT Joint Chapter, Region 8 MTT-S Coordinator, Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, MTT-S AdCom Member, and the 2014 MTT-S President.