Pioneer Award:

Recognizes a major, lasting contribution in the field of interest of MTT-S, published in an archival journal, at least 20 years prior to the year of the award, by an individual or team of up to three (3). This year's recipients are **R.J Trew, J.-B Yan and P.M. Mock.**



R.J Trew

"For Pioneering Contributions to the Theory, Realization, and Application of Wide Bandgap Semiconductor Devices as Microwave and MM-Wave Power Sources and Amplifiers"

Robert J. Trew received the B.E.E degree from Kettering University in 1968, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Michigan in 1969 and 1975, respectively. He is the Alton and Mildred Lancaster Distinguished Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at North Carolina State University, Raleigh. Dr. Trew served as the ECE Department Head for eleven years at three different universities: NCSU, Virginia Tech, and Case Western Reserve University. He was the Willis G. Worcester Professor of Engineering at Virginia Tech, and the George S. Dively Distinguished Professor of Engineering at CWRU. From 2009-2013 Dr. Trew served as the Director of the Electrical, Communications, and Cyber-Systems (ECCS) Division in the Engineering Directorate of the National Science Foundation. From 1997 to 2001 Dr. Trew served as Director of Research for the U.S. Department of

Defense, with management oversight responsibility for the \$1.3 billion yearly basic research programs of DOD. He also represented the DOD basic research program to various organizations such as the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), the National Academies, professional societies, and other organizations devoted to national basic research policy. From 1997-98 he was DOD representative to the White House OSTP Committee on Science and the National Research Council's Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable (GUIRR). Dr. Trew served as Vice-Chair of the U.S. government interagency committee that planned the U.S. National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI). Dr. Trew is a Life Fellow of the IEEE and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He served as MTT Society President for 2004. He served two terms (2007-2012) as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Proceeding, the highest rated technical journal in the electrical engineering field. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques from 1995 to 1997, and from 1999-2002 was founding co-Editor-in-Chief of the award winning IEEE Microwave Magazine. Dr. Trew's research interests include the development of physically-based semiconductor device models for computer-aided design, wide bandgap semiconductor microwave devices, and high frequency electronic devices and systems. He was twice named an IEEE MTT Society Microwave Distinguished Lecturer. Awards received by Dr. Trew include the 2001 IEEE-USA Harry Diamond Memorial Award, an IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the 1998 IEEE MTT Society Distinguished Educator Award, the 1991 Alcoa Foundation Distinguished Engineering Research Award, and a 1992 NCSU Distinguished Scholarly Achievement Award. He received an Engineering Alumni Society Merit Award in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan in 2003. Along with the IEEE Dr. Trew is a member the Materials Research Society, the Electromagnetics Academy, AAAS, Sigma Xi, Eta Kappa Nu, and Tau Beta Pi. He has authored or co-authored over 181 publications, 21 book chapters, and has lectured extensively both nationally and internationally, with over 421 presentations. Dr. Trew has twelve patents.