N. Walter Cox Award:

The N. Walter Cox Award recognizes an individual (IEEE MTT-S member) who has given exemplary service to the Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation. This year's recipient are **George Ponchak and Kenji Itoh.**



George Ponchak

"In recognition of exemplary service to the MTT Society in a spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation"

George E. Ponchak (S'82 - M'83 – SM'97-F'08) received the B. E. E. degree from Cleveland State University, Cleveland, OH in 1983, the M.S.E.E. degree from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH in 1987, and the Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI in 1997.

He joined the staff of the Communications, Instrumentation, and Controls Division at NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, OH in 1983 where he is now a senior research engineer. In 1997-1998 and in 2000-2001, he was a visiting professor at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH. He has authored and co-authored 200 papers in refereed journals and symposia proceedings. His research interests include the development and characterization of microwave and millimeter-wave printed transmission lines and passive circuits, multilayer interconnects, integrated antennas, wireless sensors, Si and SiC Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits, and microwave packaging.

Dr. Ponchak is a Fellow of the IEEE and an Associate Member of the European Microwave Association. Dr. Ponchak was the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions Microwave Theory and Techniques from 2010-2013, the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters from 2006-2009, and the Editor of a special issue of IEEE Trans. on Microwave Theory and Techniques on Si MMICs. He has served on the Editorial Board of the International Journal of RF and Microwave Computer Aided Engineering since 2005. He founded the IEEE Topical Meeting on Silicon Monolithic Integrated Circuits in RF Systems and served as its Chair in 1998, 2001, and 2006. He was the General Chair of the 2011 IEEE Radio and Wireless Symposium, the Technical Program Chair of the 2010 IEEE Radio and Wireless Symposium, and the Technical Program Chair of the 2013 IEEE International Microwave and RF Conference (IMaRC). He served as Chair of the Cleveland MTT-S/AP-S Chapter (2004-2006), and he has chaired many symposium workshops and special sessions. He is a member of the IEEE International Microwave Symposium Technical Program Review Committee on Transmission Line Elements and served as its Chair in 2003-2005 and a member of the IEEE MTT-S Technical Committee 12 on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Packaging and Manufacturing. He served on the IEEE MTT-S AdCom Membership Services Committee (2003-2005) and was elected to the MTT-S AdCom in 2010; he chaired the Meeting and Symposia Committee in 2012-2013 and the Publication Committee in 2014. He received the Best Paper of the ISHM'97 30th International Symposium on Microwave.