## **2010 DISTINGUISHED EDUCATOR AWARD**

This award was inspired by the untimely death of Prof. F.J. Rosenbaum (1937-1992), an outstanding teacher of microwave science and a dedicated AdCom Member and contributor. The award recognizes a distinguished educator in the field of microwave engineering and science who best exemplifies the special human qualities of Fred Rosenbaum who considered teaching a high calling and demonstrated his dedication to the Society through tireless service. This year's recipient is **Gabriel Rebeiz** whose citation reads "For outstanding achievements as an educator, mentor and role model of microwave engineers and engineering students."



**Gabriel M. Rebeiz** (Fellow, IEEE) is a Professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of California, San Diego. Prior to this appointment, he was at the University of Michigan from 1988 to 2004. He received his Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology. He has contributed to planar mm-wave and THz antennas and imaging arrays from 1988-1996, and his group has optimized the dielectric-lens antennas, which is the most widely used antenna at mm-wave and THz frequencies. Prof. Rebeiz' group also developed 6-18 GHz and 30-50 GHz 8- and 16-element phased arrays on a single silicon chip, making them one of the most complex RFICs at this frequency range. His group also demonstrated high-Q RF MEMS tunable filters at 1-6 GHz (Q> 200) and the new angular-based RF MEMS capacitive and metal-contact switches. As a consultant, he developed the USM/ViaSat 24 GHz single-chip automotive radar, phased arrays operating at X, Ku-Band and W-band for defense and commercial applications, the RFMD RF MEMS switch and the Agilent RF MEMS switch.

in the state

Prof. Rebeiz is an IEEE Fellow, an NSF Presidential Young Investigator, an URSI Koga Gold Medal Recipient, the IEEE MTT 2003 Distinguished Young Engineer, and is the recipient of the IEEE MTT 2000 Microwave Prize and the IEEE MTT 2010 Distinguished Educator Award. He also received the 1998 Eta-Kappa-Nu Professor of the Year Award and the 1998 Amoco Teaching Award given to the best undergraduate teacher at the University of Michigan, and the 2008 Teacher of the Year Award at the Jacobs School of Engineering, UCSD. His students have won a total of 19 best paper awards at IEEE MTT, RFIC and AP-S conferences. He has been an Associate Editor of IEEE MTT, and a Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE MTT and IEEE AP. He leads a group of 20 Ph.D. students and

5 Post-Doctoral Fellows in the area of mm-wave RFIC, microwaves circuits, RF MEMS, planar mm-wave antennas and terahertz systems, and is the Director of the UCSD/DARPA Center on RF MEMS Reliability and Design Fundamentals. He is the author of the book, RF MEMS: Theory, Design and Technology, Wiley (2003).