

2010 N. WALTER COX AWARD



This award was established in recognition of the qualities of N. Walter Cox and his service to the MTT-S prior to his untimely death in 1988. It is given to a Society volunteer whose efforts on behalf of MTT-S best exemplify Walter's spirit and dedication. This year's recipient is Herbert (Mike) Harris whose citation reads "For exemplary service, given in the spirit of selfless dedication and cooperation." **Mike Harris** received his Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1974. While completing the requirements for his undergraduate degree, he worked as a student assistant in the Physical Sciences Division of the Georgia Tech Engineering Experiment Station where Walter Cox was the Division Chief. Upon receiving his degree, he

worked for Harris Semiconductor in the reliability department. He was responsible for reliability assurance and failure analysis for CMOS digital circuits and later bipolar read only memories.

In 1976, he was re-united with Walter Cox and Charlie Rucker's group and began his career in microwave engineering. His initial work was related to chip-level combining of IMPATT diodes where the team established record output power levels for solid state oscillators at X-band.

He received his Master's degree in Electrical Engineering in 1980 and began developing fabrication processes for GaAs MESFETs. He continued research on FET devices including PHEMTs and GaN on silicon carbide.

Mike Harris is currently the Associate Director of the Electro-Optical Systems Laboratory of the Georgia Tech Research Institute. He is still active in applied research focused on thermal management of solid state power amplifier assemblies.

He served on the Microwave Theory and Techniques Society AdCom as chairman of the Technical Coordinating Committee, Treasurer and chairman of the Operations Committee.