

2010 OUTSTANDING YOUNG ENGINEER

This award recognizes MTT-S members, who have distinguished themselves through technical achievements, service to the MTT-S, or a combination of both. Nominees must not have reached their 39th birthday and must be an MTT-S member at the time of nomination. This year's recipients are **Frank Ellinger, Telesphor Kamgaing, Linus Maurer,** and **Fernando Teixeira.**



Frank Ellinger: "For outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession."

Frank Ellinger was born in Friedrichshafen, Germany, in 1972. In electrical engineering (EE), he graduated in 1996 from the University of Ulm, Germany. He received an MBA and a PhD degree in EE from the ETH Zürich (ETHZ), Switzerland, in 2001, and the habilitation degree in high frequency circuit design from the ETHZ in 2004. Since August 2006 he is full professor and head of the Chair for Circuit Design and Network Theory at the Dresden University of Technology, Germany. He is member of the management board of the Cool Silicon e.V. coordinating the German Excellence Cluster Project Cool Silicon having 65 partners from industry and academia. From 2001-2006, he has been head of the RFIC Design Group of the Electronics Laboratory at the ETHZ, and a

project leader of the IBM/ETHZ Competence Center for Advanced Silicon Electronics hosted at IBM Research in Rüschlikon. Prof. Ellinger has been coordinator of the EU funded projects RESOLUTION and MIMAX. He published more than 150 refereed scientific papers and authored the lecture book "Radio Frequency Integrated Circuits and Technologies" published by Springer. He has been elected by the IEEE MTT-S as IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer for 2009-2010.

For his works he received several awards including the ETHZ Medal, the Denzler Award, two times the Rohde&Schwarz EEEfCOM Innovation Award, and a Young PhD Award of the ETHZ.